Luyendyk Named Vice President-Elect of SOT

March 5, 2024

The IIT would like to offer our congratulations to Dr. James P. Luyendyk, IIT-affiliated faculty member in the Department of Pathobiology and Diagnostic Investigation, who was re­cently elected vice president-elect for the Society of Toxicology. His election to this office at the SOT will lead to his serving as vice president and then as president of the society.

After earning his Ph.D. in Pharmacology and Toxicology with a dual major in Environmental Toxicology from the IIT's EITS graduate training program in 2004, Dr. Luyendyk conducted his postdoctoral training at the Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, California, studying immunology and hemostasis. He then began his career in academia, first at the University of Kansas Medical Center as an Assistant Professor and thereafter joining the Michigan State University faculty as an Associate Professor. Dr. Luyendyk currently serves as a Professor in the Department of Pathobiology and Diagnostic Investigation and as a member of the IIT.

Dr. Luyendyk is a leader in the fields of toxicology, hepatology, and hematology, evidenced not only by the more than 100 peer-reviewed publications and multiple book chapters that compose his publication repertoire, but also by his numerous regional, national, and international speaking engagements. His research, involving both drug and environmental exposures, explores the mechanisms by which blood-clotting factors contribute to liver disease, which has challenged assumptions in multiple fields, including toxicology, and has inverted perceptions on the role coagulation factors play in the liver’s response to toxicants.


The MSU IIT is proud to announce Dr. Luyendyk’s appointment as he continues a rich tradition of SOT presidents associated with our institution. He will be the tenth IIT-affiliated SOT president to hold office. 

Other past SOT presidents include:

Patricia E. Ganey
President from 2017-2018
Emeritus faculty member

Norbert E. Kaminski
President from 2014-2015
Current IIT Director

Michael P. Holsapple
President from 2010-2011
Adjunct faculty member at MSU & former CRIS Director

Kendall B. Wallace
President from 2005 - 2006
Former doctoral trainee

Jay I. Goodman
President from 1999 – 2000
Emeritus faculty member

James S. Bus
President from 1996 – 1997
Former doctoral trainee

James E. Gibson
President from 1988 – 1989
Former faculty member

Jerry B. Hook
President from 1987 – 1988
Founding director of the CIT

Perry J. Gehring
President from 1980 – 1981
Former faculty member

Congratulations to Dr. Luyendyk on this prestigious accomplishment!