Skip to main content

Partnering Programs & Departments

Before gaining acceptance into the EITS program, you must be accepted into one of our 17 cooperating Ph.D. programs that suits your interests. To help decide which partnering program is best for you, check out the individual websites of our partnering programs and departments below. Please contact their graduate program director or secretary for more information about the individual departments/programs.

 

Animal Science (www.ans.msu.edu)

Janice Swanson, Chairperson
Anthony Hall, 474 S. Shaw Lane, Room 1290F | 517.355.8384 | swansoj@msu.edu

Barb Sweeney, Graduate Secretary
Anthony Hall, 474 S. Shaw Lane, Room 1290G | 517.355.8417 | sweeney4@msu.edu

Steven Bursian, Graduate Director
Anthony Hall, 474 S. Shaw Lane, Room 2209C | 517.355.8415 | bursian@msu.edu

 

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (www.bmb.msu.edu)

Thomas D. Sharkey, Chairperson
Biochemistry Building, 603 Wilson Rd., Room 210 | 517.355.0804 | tsharkey@msu.edu

Jessica Lawrence, Graduate Secretary
Biochemistry Building, 603 Wilson Rd., Room 212 | 517.353.0807 | jesslaw@cns.msu.edu

Jon Kaguni, Graduate Director
Biochemistry Building, 603 Wilson Rd., Room 322 | 517.353.6721 | kajuni@msu.edu

 

Cell & Molecular Biology (www.cmb.msu.edu)

Susan E. Conrad, Chairperson & Graduate Director
BPS Building, 567 Wilson Rd., Room 2240 | 517.353.5161 | conrad@msu.edu

Alaina Burghardt, Academic Program Coordinator
BPS Building, 567 Wilson Rd., Room 2240A | 517.884.5299 | mannieal@msu.edu

 

Chemistry (www.chemistry.msu.edu)

Robert Maleczka, Chairperson
Chemistry Building, 578 S. Shaw Lane, Room 540 | 517.355.9715x124 | maleczka@msu.edu

Heidi Wardin, Graduate Secretary
Chemistry Building, 578 S. Shaw Lane, Room 320 | 517.355.9715x343 | wardinhe@msu.edu

Gary John Blanchard, Graduate Director
Chemistry Building, 578 S. Shaw Lane, Room 328 | 517.355.9715x224 | blanchard@chemistry.msu.edu

 

Comparative Medicine & Integrative Biology (http://cvm.msu.edu/future-students/graduate-programs/cmib)

Vilma Yuzbasiyan-Gurkan, Chairperson & Graduate Director
BPS Building, 567 Wilson Rd., Room 2290 | 517.884.5351 | yuzbasiyan@cvm.msu.edu

Dimity Palazzola, Graduate Secretary
Veterinary Medical Center, 784 Wilson Road, Room G326 | 517.353.3118 | palazz39@msu.edu

 

Earth and Environmental Sciences (https://ees.natsci.msu.edu/)

David Hyndman, Chairperson
Natural Sciences Building, 288 Farm Lane Rd., Room 206 | 517.355.4626 | hyndman@msu.edu

Pam Robinson, Graduate Secretary
Natural Sciences Building, 288 Farm Lane Rd., Room 206 | 517.353.3263 | robin433@cns.msu.edu

David Long, Graduate Director
Natural Sciences Building, 288 Farm Lane Rd., Room 141 | 517.353.9618 | long@msu.edu

 

Fisheries & Wildlife (www.fw.msu.edu)

Scott Winterstein, Chairperson
Natural Resources Building, 480 Wilson Rd., Room 7 | 517.353.2022 | winterst@msu.edu

Jill Cruth, Graduate Secretary
Natural Resources Building, 480 Wilson Rd., Room 40 | 517.353.9091 | cruth@msu.edu

Shawn Riley, Graduate Director
Natural Resources Building, 480 Wilson Rd., Room 2D | 517.353.9456 | rileysh2@msu.edu

 

Food Science & Human Nutrition (www.fshn.msu.edu)

Frederick Derksen, Chairperson
G.M.Trout Building, 469 Wilson Rd., Room 204 | 517.355.8474x101 | derksen@msu.edu

Marcia Hardaker, Graduate Secretary
G.M.Trout Building, 469 Wilson Rd., Room 106 | 517.353.3323 | hardake1@msu.edu

Ustonol Zeynep, Graduate Director
Anthony Hall, 474 S. Shaw Rd., Room 2105 | 517.355.7713x184 | ustunol@anr.msu.edu

 

Forestry (www.for.msu.edu)

Richard Kobe, Chairperson
Natural Resources Building, 480 Wilson Rd., Room 109 | 517.355.0092 | kobe@msu.edu

Juli Mack, Graduate Secretary
Natural Resources Building, 480 Wilson Rd., Room 126 | 517.355.0090 | julimack@msu.edu

David Rothstein, Graduate Director
Natural Resources Building, 480 Wilson Rd., Room 210D | 517.432.3353 | rothste2@msu.edu

 

Genetics (www.genetics.msu.edu)

Cathy Ernst, Chairperson & Graduate Director
Anthony Hall, 474 S. Shaw Lane, Room 1205H | 517.432.1941 | ernstc@msu.edu

Alaina Burghardt, Academic Program Coordinator
BPS Building, 567 Wilson Rd., Room 2240A | 517.884.5299 | mannieal@msu.edu

 

Integrative Biology (https://integrativebiology.natsci.msu.edu/)

Thomas Getty, Chairperson
Natural Sciences Bulidng, 288 Farm Lane, Room 203 | 517.353.9864 | getty@msu.edu

Lisa Craft, Graduate Secretary
Natural Sciences Bulidng, 288 Farm Lane, Room 203 | 517.353.4642 | craftl@msu.edu

Catherine Lindell, Graduate Director
Natural Sciences Bulidng, 288 Farm Lane, Room 322 | 517.353.9874 | lindellc@msu.edu

 

Microbiology & Molecular Genetics (www.mmg.msu.edu)

Victor DiRita, Chairperson
BPS Building, 567 Wilson Rd., Room 2215C / 5112A | 517.884.5292 | diritavi@msu.edu

Betty Miller, Graduate Secretary
BPS Building, 567 Wilson Rd., Room 2215 | 517.353.8916 | mille279@msu.edu

Donna Koslowsky, Graduate Director
BPS Building, 567 Wilson Rd., Room 5174 | 517.884.5353 | koslowsk@msu.edu

 

Neuroscience (www.neuroscience.msu.edu)

Jim Galligan, Chairperson
Giltner Hall, 293 Farm Lane, Room 108 | 517.355.8947 | galliga1@msu.edu

Julie Delgado, Graduate Secretary
Giltner Hall, 293 Farm Lane, Room 108 | 517.884.9523 | delgadof@msu.edu

Peter Cobbett, Graduate Director
Life Sciences Building, 1355 Bogue St., Room B330 | 517.353.5479 | cobbett@msu.edu

 

Pathobiology & Diagnostic Investigation (http://cvm.msu.edu/pdi)

Srinand Sreevatsan, Chairperson
Vet Med Center, 784 Wilson Rd., Room F130G | 517.432.4685 | sreevats@msu.edu

Denise Harrison, Graduate Secretary
Vet Med Center, 784 Wilson Rd., Room F130J | 517.432.4685 | harris22@msu.edu

Jennifer Thomas, Graduate Director
Vet Med Center, 784 Wilson Rd., Room G350 | 517.353.1633 | thoma435@msu.edu

 

Pharmacology & Toxicology (www.phmtox.msu.edu)

Richard Neubig, Chairperson
Life Sciences Building, 1355 Bogue St., Room B423 | 517.353.7147 | rneubig@msu.edu

Julie Detwiler, Graduate Secretary
Life Sciences Building, 1355 Bogue St., Room B442 | 517.353.9619 | julie.detwiler@hc.msu.edu

Anne Dorrance, Graduate Director
Life Sciences Building, 1355 Bogue St., Room B432 | 517.432.7403 | dorranc3@msu.edu

 

Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences (www.css.msu.edu)

James Kells, Chairperson
Plant and Soil Sciences Building, 1066 Bogue St., Room 486 | 517.355.0271x1103 | kells@msu.edu

Linda Colon, Graduate Secretary for PSS Students
Integrated Plant Systems Center, 578 Wilson Rd., Room 107 | 517.353.8645 | colon@msu.edu

Mackenzie Graham, Graduate Secretary for PBGB & CSS Students
Plant and Soil Sciences Building, 1066 Bogue St., Room A278 | 517.353.0111 | mart1708@msu.edu

Taylor Johnston, Graduate Director
Plant and Soil Sciences Building, 1066 Bogue St., Room 260A | 517.355.0271x1164 | johnsto4@msu.edu

 

Physiology (https://physiology.natsci.msu.edu/)

Charles "Lee" Cox, Chairperson
Biomedical Physical Sciences Building, 567 Wilson Rd., Room 2201E | 517.884.5059 | coxclee@msu.edu

Kim Crain, Curriculum Assistant
Biomedical Physical Sciences Building, 567 Wilson Rd., Room 2205 | 517.884.5075 | crain@msu.edu

Susanne Mohr, Graduate Director
Biomedical Physical Sciences Building, 567 Wilson Rd., Room 3175 | 517.884.5114 | mohrs@msu.edu